University Senate

The University Senate

There shall be a University Senate that shall be a legislative body for the purpose of establishing minimum rules and general regulations pertaining to all undergraduate schools and colleges and with policy insofar as it pertains in a general way to the educational program of the institution and is not reserved to the Board of Trustees, to the administration, to the Graduate Faculty Council, or to the several faculties. [From the By-Laws of the University of Connecticut, Article IX]

LINK: University Senate

Senate Executive Committee

The Executive Committee organizes and coordinates the business of the Senate and its committees. Its members constitute the faculty membership on the Trustee-Administration-Faculty-Student Committee.

LINK: Senate Executive Committee

Committee of Three

The Committee of Three functions in faculty dismissal and grievance procedures. Complaints involving promotion, tenure, and reappointment decisions may be brought to the Committee of Three only at the end of a sequence of peer review procedures, including those of the Faculty Review Board. Other complaints may be brought to the Committee of  Three only after appropriate administrative remedies have been exhausted.

Senate Membership

The University Senate consists of 91 elected or appointed members:

Three (3) administrative officers elected by and from a group composed of the deans of the schools and colleges which are Senate electoral constituencies;

Seventy-two (72) members elected by the faculty;

Nine (9) members elected by the professional staff;

Five (5) undergraduates appointed by the president of the Undergraduate Student Government (USG);

Two (2) graduate students appointed by the pesident of the Graduate Student Senate (GSS).

Ex-officio members of the University Senate include the president, the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs; vice presidents, vice provosts, and associate vice presidents.

Elections are held annually.

Senate Committees

The University has eight (8) standing committees and a nominating committee. Eligibility to serve on a committee is not limited to members of the Senate. The standing  committees are responsible for: growth and development; faculty standards; enrollment; University budget; courses & curricula; scholastic standards; student welfare;  and diversity.

LINK: By-Laws, Rules & Regulations of the University Senate

Senate Representation on Committees Across the University

Some members of the University Senate also serve on committees that function across the University, such as Board of Trustee committees, the Building Names Committee,  Space Committee, Parking Advisory Committee, and UConn Foundation Board of Directors.

LINK: Senate Representation on Committees Across the University